Rivista di antropologia contemporanea

About this journal


Anthropological research in Italy (Demo-etno-antropologia) is rich and lively, even if at times fragmentary. The Journal of Contemporary Anthropology (Rivista di antropologia contemporanea - RAC) aims at uniting different schools and fields of study, offering a constructive space for fruitful scientific debate. RAC dedicates monographic issues to the theoretical challenges of current international anthropology, focusing on anthropology as a tool for reading contemporary societies and their changes, in dialogue with other disciplines such as history, sociology, and political science. How globalization redefines the spheres of economics and politics; what kind of ‘anthropological revolution’ is triggered by the spread of new media; what contributions anthropology can offer to the rethinking of concepts such as State, people, sovereignty: these are some of the themes RAC intends to address, holding on the two pillars of the anthropological approach, the irreducibility of the concept of culture and the centrality of ethnographic research.


Editor in chief Fabio Dei (Università di Pisa) Editorial board Marco Aime (Università di Genova), Stefano Allovio (Università degli Studi di Milano), Matteo Aria (Sapienza Università di Roma), Silvia Barberani (Università di Milano-Bicocca), Mara Benadusi (Università di Catania), Gabriella D’Agostino (Università di Palermo), Paolo De Simonis (Università di Firenze), Adriano Favole (Università di Torino), Ester Gallo (Università di Trento), Simonetta Grilli (Università di Siena), Alessandro Mancuso (Università di Palermo), Vincenzo Matera (Università di Bologna), Claudia Mattalucci (Università di Milano-Bicocca), Bruno Riccio (Università di Bologna), Federico Scarpelli (Università di Salerno), Simona Taliani (Università di Torino), Federica Tarabusi (Università di Bologna), Piero Vereni (Università di Roma Tor Vergata), Dorothy Louise Zinn (Libera Università di Bolzano) Assistant editor Emanuela Borgnino (Università di Torino), Simone Cerulli (Trinity College Rome Campus), Adriano De Francesco (University of Auckland), Lorenzo D'Orsi (Università di Foggia), Antonio Fanelli (Sapienza Università di Roma), Matteo Gallo (Musée du Quai Branly – Paris), Marta Gentilucci (Centre Universitaire pour la Formation et la Recherche CUFR, Mayotte), Stefano Maltese (Università della Tuscia), Aurora Massa (Università di Pavia), Giacomo Nerici (Università di Milano-Bicocca), Antonio Vesco (Università di Catania) International scientific board Julio Cesar Adiala (Universidade Estacio de Sa, Brasil), Naor H. Ben-Yehoyada (Columbia University in the City of New York), David Berliner (Université Libre de Bruxelles), Heath Cabot (University of Pittsburg), Giordana Charuty (Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes, Paris), Frederico Delgado Rosa (Nova Universidade de Lisboa – CRIA), Reinhard Johler (Tübingen Universität), Peter Jan Margry (Meertens Institut, Amsterdam), Malgorzata Rygielska (Instytut Nauk o Kulturze, Katowice), Carlo Severi (Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales – CNRS).